Crest of A. F. C. Telford United

AFC Telford United

The Bucks

© mattythewhite, licensed under CC BY SA 2.0

A. F. C. Telford United, nicknamed “The Bucks,” is a non-league football club based in Wellington, Shropshire.

Established in 2004, they currently compete in the Pitching In Southern Football League Premier Central, which is part of the seventh tier of English football. The team calls New Bucks Head their home ground.

Wellington Town, later Telford United and AFC Telford United, has a long history in non-league football since its founding in 1892. The club experienced early success, winning the Welsh Cup twice and becoming Birmingham & District League Champions four times by 1939. After rebranding to Telford United in 1969, they gained fame in the FA Trophy, winning it three times and reaching five finals, a record only matched by a few clubs. Their FA Cup journey from 1982 to 1992 was marked by several victories against Football League teams, including reaching the Fifth Round in 1985.

AFC Telford United, established in 2004, continued the legacy with varied successes, including winning the Northern Premier Division Play-off in 2006-07 and becoming Conference North Champions in 2013-14. Although their FA Cup performances haven’t matched their predecessors, reaching the Second Round in 2014-15 was a highlight. The club also made significant FA Trophy appearances, reaching the semi-finals in the 2008/09 and 2018/19 seasons.

AFC Telford United Limited is a registered company in England and Wales under company number 05138735 .