Crest of Eastbourne Town Football Club

Eastbourne Town

Southern Combination Premier Division

Eastbourne Town Football Club, nicknamed “The Townies,” is a non-league football club based in Eastbourne, East Sussex.

Established in 1880, they currently compete in the Southern Combination Premier Division, which is part of the ninth tier of English football. The team calls The Saffrons Sports Ground their home ground.

At the time of writing, Jude MacDonald is the current manager with experience at Whitehawk among his past roles.

Eastbourne Town v Hassocks
© grassrootsgroundswell, licensed under CC BY 2.0


Eastbourne Town, Sussex’s oldest senior football club, was formed in 1880 from a merger of two local clubs. It was initially named Eastbourne United, later becoming Devonshire Park F.C. in 1881, and eventually settling on Eastbourne FC. The club achieved early success, winning the Sussex Senior Cup multiple times and securing international trophies in 1904 and 1909. Throughout the 1920s, Eastbourne enjoyed further league and cup victories.

Post-World War II, the club experienced fluctuating fortunes. They joined the Corinthian League in 1946, set a record attendance of 7,378 in 1952, and underwent several name and league changes, including a stint in the Isthmian League. The club faced relegation challenges but also had cup successes. The late 20th century saw them moving between leagues, with a notable fire damaging their grandstand in 1969.

In recent years, Eastbourne Town has maintained a strong league presence, reaching the senior cup quarterfinals in 2019. Following a managerial change in 2022, the club continues to compete effectively in non-league football, reflecting a history of resilience and adaptability.


Current management and coaching staff


Former players and managers elsewhere in the non-league pyramid