Crest of Carlton Town Football Club

Carlton Town

The Millers

Carlton Town Football Club, nicknamed “The Millers,” is a non-league football club based in Gedling, Nottinghamshire.

Established in 1904, they currently compete in the Pitching In Northern Premier League Division One East, which is part of the eighth tier of English football. The team calls Bill Stokeld Stadium their home ground.

Founded in 1904 as Sneinton FC, the club settled at Stoke Lane, Gedling in the early 1990s and joined the Central Midlands Football League (CML). After a challenging start, under managers Tommy Brookbanks and Neil Cooper, the club climbed from the Premier Division to the Supreme Division of the CML in just two years. Despite initial setbacks due to ground grading issues, the club, renamed Carlton Town in 2002, won the CML Supreme Division title and progressed to the Northern Counties East League (NCEL) First Division. The club’s significant period included winning the First Division title in 2005-06 and securing promotion to the Northern Premier League First Division South.

The team faced ups and downs, including a strong 2008-09 season, finishing fourth, but failing in the playoffs. After a managerial change in 2010, Les McJannet led the team to a second-place finish in 2011-12 but again fell short in the playoffs. The following seasons saw fluctuating league performances but success in the Notts Senior Cup.