Crest of Wythenshawe Town Football Club

Wythenshawe Town

The Wythy

Wythenshawe Town Football Club, nicknamed “The Wythy,” is a non-league football club based in Wythenshawe, Greater Manchester.

Established in 1946, they currently compete in the NWCFL Premier Division, which is part of the ninth tier of English football. The team calls Ericstan Park their home ground.

Founded in 1946 as North Withington Amateur Football Club by St. Crispin’s Church attendees in Fallowfield, Wythenshawe Town has a rich history, starting in the South Manchester & Wythenshawe League and later moving through various leagues. By 1974, the club had relocated to Timpson Road, Baguley, establishing Ericstan Park, and they adopted a new badge symbolizing their founding members. A significant period came under Chairman Kenny Hope’s leadership, when they joined the Cheshire League, earning the moniker ‘The Invincibles’ for their undefeated season and aiming for semi-professional status.

Transitioning into semi-professional football, Wythenshawe Town achieved notable success in the North-West Counties Football League, with Chairman Chris Eaton steering towards sustainable growth. Despite COVID-19 interruptions, the club demonstrated resilience and ambition, securing key victories and recognition, like the Fair Play Award and the Manager of the Year for James Kinsey. Their ascent continued with seven consecutive wins in the 2020/2021 season, eventually leading to promotion and a robust performance in subsequent campaigns.

In recent years, Wythenshawe Town continued striving for excellence and progression, marked by significant achievements in domestic cups and league performance. The 2022-2023 season, however, ended in slight disappointment, missing promotion by a narrow margin and witnessing a managerial change with Rory Fallon’s appointment. Despite these challenges, the club’s dedication to growth and success remains evident, underscoring their journey from humble beginnings to ambitious contenders in English non-league football.