Crest of Worcester City Football Club

Worcester City

The Faithful

Worcester City Football Club, nicknamed “The Faithful,” is a non-league football club based in Worcester, Worcestershire.

Established in 1970, they currently compete in the uhlsport Hellenic League Premier Division, which is part of the ninth tier of English football. The team calls Claines Lane their home ground.

At the time of writing, Chris Cornes is the current manager.


Founded on September 9, 1902, Worcester City Football Club began after Berwick Rangers’ liquidation and moved to St. George’s Lane in 1905. The club initially enjoyed success, winning the Worcestershire Senior Cup six times consecutively (1908-1914) and securing the Birmingham League title in 1924/25 and again in the late 1920s under Frank Womack and Joe Smith. The 1938 shift to the Southern League brought a league cup win in 1940. The post-World War II era saw significant FA Cup victories, including a memorable win over Liverpool in 1957/58.

Financial difficulties in the 1960s were overcome by supporter efforts, and the club saw resurgence under Nobby Clark in the 1970s, winning the Southern League Division 1 North in 1976/77 and the Premier Division in 1978/79. The late 1970s and early 1980s brought participation in the Alliance Premier League and further FA Cup successes. The club experienced various league changes and management shifts in the 2000s, with a notable FA Cup win against Coventry City in 2014/15.

Facing relegation and ground issues, Worcester City became a supporter-owned club in 2019. The club returned to Worcester in 2020, signing a lease at Claines Lane, and in 2021, Tim Harris was appointed team manager, symbolizing a new era of commitment to the community.


Current management and coaching staff


Former players and managers elsewhere in the non-league pyramid