Crest of Biggleswade United Football Club

Biggleswade United


Biggleswade United - Leverstock Green
© Patricia González Muñiz, licensed under CC BY NC-ND 2.0

Biggleswade United Football Club, nicknamed “United,” is a non-league football club based in Biggleswade, Bedfordshire.

Established in 1959, they currently compete in the Molten SSML Premier Division, which is part of the ninth tier of English football. The team calls Second Meadow their home ground.

Biggleswade United, re-established on July 16, 1959, began its journey in Division Three of the North Hertfordshire League, progressing to the South Midlands League in 1969. The club faced significant challenges in this league, consistently finishing in the lower half of the table and experiencing four seasons at the bottom, leading to a demotion to Division Two of the Hertfordshire Senior County League.

The 1980s and 1990s marked a period of resurgence and success for Biggleswade United. In 1986, they moved to the Bedford & District League, where they achieved notable victories including the Aubrey Tingey Memorial Cup and the Diamond Jubilee Cup. The team also won Division Two and Division One titles in successive seasons, along with three consecutive Britannia Cups and back-to-back Premier Division titles, which led to their promotion back to Division One of the South Midlands League.

In the new millennium, the club continued to make strides, winning the Bedfordshire Senior Cup and Trophy, and achieving promotion to the Premier Division after a strong performance in the 2004–05 season. Spanish football journalist Guillem Balagué joined as Director of Football in 2014, marking a significant moment in the club’s history. This period also saw the club transition through different leagues, including the Premier Division South of the United Counties League and a return to the Spartan South Midlands League’s Premier Division.