Crest of Belper Town Football Club

Belper Town

The Nailers

A photo of Belper Town Football Club
© Paul Conneally, licensed under CC BY NC 2.0

Belper Town Football Club, nicknamed “The Nailers,” is a non-league football club based in Belper, Derbyshire.

Established in 1883, they currently compete in the Pitching In Northern Premier League Division One West, which is part of the eighth tier of English football. The team calls Christchurch Meadow their home ground.

Belper Town, nicknamed “The Nailers” due to the town’s historic nail-making industry, was formed in 1883. The club has faced financial difficulties and reformed several times.

In the early years, Belper Town reached the FA Cup 1st Round in 1887. They joined the Central Alliance League in 1951 and won the championship in 1958/59. In 1980/81, they won the Midland Counties League and Derbyshire Senior Cup.

After the formation of the Northern Counties East League in 1982, Belper Town won the championship in 1984/85. They reached the FA Vase 5th Round twice and a semi-final in which they narrowly lost to Oxford City.

In 1997, Belper Town joined the Northern Premier League. They achieved success under managers Andy Carney and Danny Hudson, winning the Derbyshire Senior Cup in 2008 and finishing second in the league in 2008/09.

Under manager Peter Duffield, Belper Town reached the play-offs several times and finally achieved promotion to the NPL Premier Division in 2013/14. However, they were relegated the following season.

After a period of decline, Grant Black and Mick Norbury were appointed as managers and led the club away from relegation in 2018.