Crest of A. F. C. Fylde

AFC Fylde

The Coasters

A photo of A. F. C. Fylde
© Dave, licensed under CC BY NC-SA 2.0

A. F. C. Fylde, nicknamed “The Coasters,” is a non-league football club based in Preston, Lancashire.

Established in 1988, they currently compete in the Vanarama National League, which is part of the fifth tier of English football. The team calls Mill Farm Sports Village their home ground.

A.F.C. Fylde, originally formed as Kirkham & Wesham in 1988, has risen prominently in English non-league football. Their early years were marked by fluctuating fortunes in the West Lancashire League, but the club dominated this league from 1999 to 2007, winning the title seven times in eight seasons and maintaining a 21-month unbeaten run.

Their ascent continued after joining the North West Counties League in 2007, highlighted by winning the FA Vase in 2008. The club, renamed A.F.C. Fylde in 2008, achieved successive promotions under managers Mick Fuller, Kelham O’Hanlon, and notably Dave Challinor, who led them to the Northern Premier League title. Fylde reached the National League by 2017 and finished 7th in their debut season.

The 2018/19 season was particularly successful, with the club finishing fifth in the league and winning the FA Trophy, becoming the first team to win both the FA Trophy and FA Vase. However, promotion to the Football League remained elusive. The following seasons saw managerial changes and pandemic disruptions, with mixed results. Adam Murray’s leadership in the 2022/23 season brought renewed success, as Fylde clinched the National League North title, securing a return to the National League for the 2023/24 season.

A.F.C. Fylde Limited is a registered company in England and Wales under company number 05916248 .