Crest of Aveley Football Club


The Millers

A photo of Aveley Football Club
© -Cheesyfeet-, licensed under CC BY NC-ND 2.0

Aveley Football Club, nicknamed “The Millers,” is a non-league football club based in South Ockendon, Essex.

Established in 1927, they currently compete in the Vanarama National League South, which is part of the sixth tier of English football. The team calls Parkside their home ground.

Aveley Football Club, founded in 1927, has experienced a journey of growth and fluctuating fortunes in non-league football. Initially playing in local leagues, they gained Senior League status in 1949, becoming a force in the London League and winning the division in 1951/52 and 1954/55. The club’s relocation to Mill Field in 1952 led to their nickname ‘The Millers’. Their most triumphant period came in the 1970s, marked by their 1970/71 season success in the FA Cup, FA Amateur Cup, and as Athenian League Champions.

A transition to the Isthmian League in 1973 brought mixed results, with relegation in 1986 but cup victories in the Essex Thames-Side Challenge Trophy and Hornchurch Charity Cup. The late 1980s and 1990s saw a mix of promotions, cup successes, and challenging seasons, culminating in their memorable 2008/09 Ryman League Division One North Championship win under manager Rod Stringer.

Post-2010, the club faced managerial changes and relegation struggles. The 2016 approval to build Parkside, their new ground, marked a new chapter. Recent years have seen Aveley finish strongly in league play, notably in the 2018/19 season, but they faced playoff disappointments. The 2019/20 season under Keith Rowland showed promise with significant progress in the FA Trophy and league standings, but the COVID-19 pandemic led to a nullified season, denying them a potential promotion.