Crest of Falmouth Town Association Football Club

Falmouth Town AFC

The Town

Falmouth Town Association Football Club, nicknamed “The Town,” is a non-league football club based in Falmouth, Cornwall.

Established in 1949, they currently compete in the Pitching In Southern Football League Division One South, which is part of the eighth tier of English football. The team calls Bickland Park their home ground.

The club originally joined the Cornwall Senior League in the 1950–51 season and became a founding member of the South Western League in 1951. Despite early struggles, they claimed their first trophy in 1957–58 by winning the League Cup and achieved their first league title in 1961–62. Falmouth became the first Cornish team to reach the FA Cup’s first round in 1962–63, a feat they repeated in 1967–68 and 1969–70.

The late 1960s and early 1970s marked a period of dominance for Falmouth Town, with multiple league titles and cup victories, including four consecutive South Western League titles from 1970 to 1974. Their success continued upon joining the Western League in 1974, where they secured four straight league titles, extending their streak of dominance to eight consecutive league championships. The club’s performance waned in the late 1970s, leading to their withdrawal from the Western League in 1983 due to travel costs. They rejoined the South Western League after winning the Cornwall Combination, securing additional league titles in the mid to late 1980s and 1990s.

In 2007, Falmouth Town joined the newly formed South West Peninsula League and continued to achieve success, including winning the League Cup in 2017–18. Following league reorganization, they were placed in the Premier Division West, where they won the league and the Cornwall Senior Cup in 2021–22, earning promotion to the Western League’s Premier Division. In 2023–24, Falmouth won the Cornwall Senior Cup again and achieved promotion to the Southern League Division One South after a successful play-off campaign.