Crest of FC Halifax Town

FC Halifax Town

The Shaymen

Altrincham FC vs FC Halifax Town - April 2021-109
© Michael Ripley, licensed under CC BY NC-ND 2.0

FC Halifax Town, nicknamed “The Shaymen,” is a non-league football club based in Halifax, West Yorkshire.

Established in 2008, they currently compete in the Vanarama National League, which is part of the fifth tier of English football. The team calls The Shay their home ground.

Halifax Town AFC, established in 1911 in West Yorkshire, emerged from local demand for a football team amidst a rugby-dominated region. Led by Ernest Albert Jones and supported by the community, the club quickly joined the Yorkshire Combination, impressing in its first season. Halifax Town AFC’s early journey was a mix of successes, including a strong debut season and reaching the West Riding Junior Cup final, and financial struggles.

The club’s main ground, the Shay Stadium, became central to its identity. Initially playing at smaller venues, Halifax moved to the Shay in 1921, aligning with their entry into the Football League. Despite moments of sporting success, like winning the Conference Cup in 1997, financial instability was a recurrent issue, leading to various threats to the club’s existence and changes in the Shay’s ownership and capacity.

The club’s financial woes culminated in its dissolution in 2008, owing substantial debts. In its wake, FC Halifax Town was formed as a phoenix club, starting in the lower leagues but eventually reaching the National League. This new incarnation has seen successes, including two FA Trophy wins, and represents a hopeful continuation of Halifax’s football legacy.