Crest of Eastbourne Borough Football Club

Eastbourne Borough

The Sports

Lewes 3 Eastbourne Boro 1 Pre season 20 07 2019-25.jpg
© James Boyes, licensed under CC BY 2.0

Eastbourne Borough Football Club, nicknamed “The Sports,” is a non-league football club based in Eastbourne, East Sussex.

Established in 1954, they currently compete in the Vanarama National League South, which is part of the sixth tier of English football. The team calls Priory Lane their home ground.

Eastbourne Borough FC, originally formed as Langney Sports in 1965, has evolved significantly over the decades. Starting in the Eastbourne & District Football League, they quickly climbed the ranks, entering the Sussex County League Division 3 in 1983. A pivotal moment came with their Sussex County League title win in 1999/00 under Garry Wilson and Nick Greenwood, leading to promotion to the Dr. Martens League.

The club’s rebranding to Eastbourne Borough FC in 2000/01 marked its ambition to represent the entire town, coinciding with significant improvements to their Priory Lane ground, aided by a substantial Football Foundation grant. Key achievements include winning the Sussex Senior Cup in 2002 and reaching the Conference South. The mid-2000s were marked by fluctuating performances, including reaching the North v South Play-Off Final in 2004/05 and experiencing relegation.

Under the tenure of Tommy Widdrington, the club stabilized, focusing on infrastructure development, including a new 3G pitch and an academy. Recent years have seen managerial changes, with a shift towards a full-time model under new investor Simon Leslie and manager Mark Beard, aiming for higher success in the 2023/24 season.

Eastbourne Borough Football Club 2023 Ltd is a registered company in England and Wales