Crest of Wimborne Town Football Club

Wimborne Town

The Magpies

Wimborne Town Football Club, nicknamed “The Magpies,” is a non-league football club based in Wimborne, Dorset.

Established in 1878, they currently compete in the Pitching In Southern Football League Premier South, which is part of the seventh tier of English football. The team calls New Cuthbury their home ground.

Founded in 1878, Wimborne Town Football Club began as a dual football and rugby club. By the late 19th century, the club became foundational in regional football associations. Early successes included winning the Dorset Minor Cup in 1913. The 1930s were particularly fruitful, with multiple Dorset League Division Two titles and cup victories. After winning the Dorset Senior Amateur Cup in 1937, a period of modest achievements followed until the 1960s.

Significant developments in 1981, including installing floodlights at Cuthbury ground, enabled Wimborne to join the Western League, where they quickly made a mark. The club spent 23 seasons in the Wessex League from 1987, winning the league three times and achieving several cup victories. In FA competitions, Wimborne made a memorable run to the First Round Proper in 1982/83 and triumphed in the FA Vase in 1992, becoming the first Dorset club to compete in a Wembley final.

Promoted to the Southern League in 2009/10, Wimborne reached their highest position in the non-league pyramid. Under Matty Holmes, appointed manager in 2016, the club achieved its then-highest Southern League position and won the Dorset Senior Cup in 2017-18. Following a play-off final defeat, they were promoted due to league restructuring. In the 2018/19 season, they played at Step 3 for the first time, finishing mid-table. The club entered the 2019/2020 season with new signings and continued ambition under Holmes’ leadership.