Crest of Didcot Town Football Club

Didcot Town

The Railwaymen

Didcot Town Football Club, nicknamed “The Railwaymen,” is a non-league football club based in Didcot, Oxfordshire.

Established in 1907, they currently compete in the Pitching In Southern Football League Division One South, which is part of the eighth tier of English football. The team calls Loop Meadow their home ground.

Football was played informally in Didcot until 1907, when Didcot Village FC and Northbourne Wanderers merged to create Didcot Town Football Club. The early years saw the club operating without a formal league affiliation, playing matches in rudimentary conditions. Significant advancements came with the appointment of George Smallbone as club secretary in 1912, leading to improved organization and facilities, which allowed for participation in local leagues. The club’s first major success was winning the North Berks Junior Cup in 1913, an event that also marked their first experience managing large crowds and security measures.

World War I and II had significant impacts on the club, with many players and officials serving and some losing their lives. Post-war, the club re-established itself, acquiring a permanent home at Station Road in 1923 and experiencing periods of growth and success into the mid-20th century. The move to the modern Loop Meadow Stadium in 1999 marked a new era, providing state-of-the-art facilities and allowing the club to host higher-profile matches. The club achieved historical success in the early 2000s, including a memorable victory in the FA Vase at White Hart Lane in 2005.