Crest of Hertford Town Football Club

Hertford Town

The Blues

Hertford Town Football Club, nicknamed “The Blues,” is a non-league football club based in Hertford, Hertfordshire.

Established in 1901, they currently compete in the Pitching In Southern Football League Division One Central, which is part of the eighth tier of English football. The team calls Hertingfordbury Park their home ground.

Hertford Town Football Club, established in 1901 in Hertfordshire, England, began as ‘Port Vale Rovers’ and underwent several name changes before becoming Hertford Town. The club plays in the Southern League Division One Central at the Smile IT Stadium, their home since moving from Hartham in the early 1900s. Throughout its history, the club has experienced both highs and lows, including various league participations and ground developments.

In its early years, the club was successful in local leagues but faced challenges post-World War II, including a temporary withdrawal from football and the destruction of their wooden stand by fire. They bounced back, winning the Spartan League Division One East in 1949-50 and undergoing significant ground improvements in the late 1950s and 1960s. This period also saw them achieving back-to-back Delphian League titles and winning the East Anglian Cup in 1963.

The club’s journey through the latter half of the 20th century and into the 21st included several league changes and fluctuating fortunes. Key developments include the construction of a new clubhouse, the installation of a cork-filled 3G pitch, and the expansion to include multiple teams like youth, women’s, inclusive, and walking football teams.