Crest of Whitstable Town Football Club

Whitstable Town

The Oystermen

JCF-Guernsey FC v Whitstable Town FC 5.12 (57)
© Jay Friend, licensed under CC BY NC-ND 2.0

Whitstable Town Football Club, nicknamed “The Oystermen,” is a non-league football club based in Whitstable, Kent.

Established in 1885, they currently compete in the Sea Pioneer SCEFL Premier Division, which is part of the ninth tier of English football. The team calls The Belmont Stadium their home ground.

Whitstable Town Football Club, originally “Whitstable United”, played its first match in 1885. Adopting the “Whitstable Town” name in 1886-87, they began using their current Belmont Ground in 1888. The club, having folded in 1904, was reformed in 1908, joining the Kent League Division 2. Notable early achievements include winning the Division 2 title in the 1927-28 and 1933-34 seasons, and the Kent Amateur Cup in 1928-29. Post-World War II, financial challenges led to various league changes, with a return to the Kent League in 1967.

The club celebrated its centenary in 1985-86 with high-profile matches and saw improvement in facilities. Despite regular top finishes, major successes were limited to cup competitions, including the Kent League Cup win in 1979-80 and the Kent Senior Trophy in 2000-01. The 2006-07 season was a highlight, winning the Kent League and Kent Senior Trophy under Marc Seager.

Promoted to the Ryman League in 2007, the club experienced managerial changes and fluctuating performances, eventually dropping back to the Southern Counties East Football League. In 2019, Whitstable Town merged operations with the local junior club under a new chairman.

Recent years saw further relegation challenges and ground improvements, including a new 3G pitch in 2022. Marcel Nimani became manager in October 2022 amidst ongoing efforts to revitalize the club.