Crest of Hyde United Football Club

Hyde United

The Tigers

Hyde United Football Club, nicknamed “The Tigers,” is a non-league football club based in Hyde, Greater Manchester.

Established in 1919, they currently compete in the Pitching In Northern Premier League Premier Division, which is part of the seventh tier of English football. The team calls Ewen Fields their home ground.

Hyde FC, established in 1885, has a storied history that extends beyond its infamous 26-0 FA Cup defeat by Preston North End. The club showed early ambition, engaging in significant matches and achieving notable successes, including league titles in the early 20th century and a move to Ewen Fields in 1906. Despite folding in 1917 due to war impacts, it was re-established in 1919, adding ‘United’ to its name and later enjoying prosperous times, particularly in the 1920s and post-war years, winning multiple championships and cups.

The club experienced fluctuating fortunes across the decades, adopting the nickname ‘the Tigers’ in the late 1960s and achieving various league and cup successes, despite financial challenges. The late 20th and early 21st centuries saw Hyde United engage in memorable FA Cup runs, achieve league promotions, and navigate financial crises, including a brief winding-up and strategic partnerships to secure its future. The adoption of a 3G pitch in 2016 marked a modern era, supporting local community engagement and the development of its academy.

Recent years have seen Hyde United oscillate in performance, with managerial changes, the adoption of a supporter trust model, and fluctuating league positions. Notable seasons included promotion achievements and memorable FA Cup appearances, demonstrating the club’s resilience and enduring appeal.

Hyde United Association Football Club Ltd is a registered company in England and Wales under company number 00414978 .