Crest of Trafford Football Club


The North

A photo of Trafford Football Club
© Michael Ripley, licensed under CC BY NC-ND 2.0

Trafford Football Club, nicknamed “The North,” is a non-league football club based in Flixton, Greater Manchester.

Established in 1990, they currently compete in the Pitching In Northern Premier League Division One West, which is part of the eighth tier of English football. The team calls Shawe View their home ground.

Founded in 1990 by David Brown, John Harrison, David Law, and Bill Whitten, North Trafford FC, which later became Trafford FC, quickly rose through the ranks of English football. Sharing Shawe View with Trafford Borough Rugby League Club, they initially joined the Mid-Cheshire League Division 2, achieving promotion in their first season. Under Dave Law’s management, they secured a 30-year lease for Shawe View and implemented ground improvements.

Trafford FC continued to progress, reaching the North West Counties League Division 2 by the 1991/92 season. In 1993/94, they were promoted to the NWCL Division One and won the NWCL 2nd Division Trophy. After adopting the name Trafford FC and upgrading their facilities, the team finished 4th in NWCL Division 1 in 1994/95 and reached two cup finals.

The club’s most successful period was in the 1996/97 season, winning the NWCL and securing promotion to the Northern Premier League. They continued to compete in this league, experiencing managerial changes and fluctuating performances. A highlight came in the 2007/08 season when they won the NWCL Championship, earning promotion back to the Northern Premier League.

In the 2018/19 season, Trafford FC won the Integro NPL Cup. The 2019/20 season was disrupted by COVID-19. Following manager Tom Baker’s resignation in June 2020, Danny Caldecott was promoted to manager.

Trafford Football Club Limited is a registered company in England and Wales under company number 05308485 .