Crest of Nantwich Town Football Club

Nantwich Town

The Dabbers

Nantwich Town Football Club, nicknamed “The Dabbers,” is a non-league football club based in Nantwich, Cheshire.

Established in 1884, they currently compete in the Pitching In Northern Premier League Division One West, which is part of the eighth tier of English football. The team calls Swansway Stadium their home ground.

Founded in 1884, Nantwich Town Football Club quickly progressed from playing in local leagues to joining the Cheshire County League post-World War I. They hosted Liverpool’s first FA Cup match in 1892 and achieved early success, including winning the Cheshire Senior Cup in 1933. The club experienced a memorable period in the 1960s, with a treble win in 1963/64 under Alan Ball (senior) and clinching the Cheshire League title in 1981, featuring future international player Jimmy Quinn.

In the 1980s, Nantwich became founders of the North West Counties Football League but faced early struggles. A turnaround came with the appointment of managers like Nigel Gleghorn and Steve Davis, leading to FA Vase victory in 2006 and successive promotions to the Northern Premier League. The club celebrated its 125th anniversary in 2010, marked by consistent competitive performances.

Recent years have seen Nantwich maintain a strong presence in both league and cup competitions. Under Phil Parkinson’s leadership, they achieved notable cup runs and a high league finish in 2016/17. Dave Cooke’s tenure as manager brought further success, including two Cheshire Senior Cup wins and reaching the FA Cup’s First Round Proper. The club’s consistent challenge for top positions and cup titles continued, even as the COVID pandemic disrupted seasons.