Crest of Clitheroe Football Club


The Blues

Clitheroe Football Club, nicknamed “The Blues,” is a non-league football club based in Clitheroe, Lancashire.

Established in 1877, they currently compete in the Pitching In Northern Premier League Division One West, which is part of the eighth tier of English football. The team calls Shawbridge their home ground.

As of August 2023, Clitheroe FC embarks on its 20th season in the Northern Premier League Division 1 (West), Level 4 of the non-league pyramid. Following a close call with promotion last season, the club’s drive for advancement is palpable, backed by strong season ticket sales and the Shawbridge 100 initiative for ground improvement.

The club’s roots trace back to 1877, with several iterations over the years until firmly establishing as Clitheroe FC in 1925. Key early achievements include winning the Lancashire Cup in 1892 and the North East Lancashire Combination in 1924-25. The 1980s marked a golden era under Eric Whalley, winning multiple championships in the North West Counties Football League (NWCFL) and the Lancashire Cup. The mid-1990s resurgence highlighted an FA Vase Final appearance in 1995-96 and a record transfer for Carlo Nash.

The 2000s saw league triumphs, including the 2003/04 title. Recent years have experienced managerial changes, with steady performances under Paul Moore and Simon Garner, and near-playoff success under Simon Haworth in 2016-17. Recent seasons under Billy Priestley and David Dempsey have continued the trend of competitive play and playoff appearances, setting a positive outlook for the club’s future.

Clitheroe Football Club Limited is a registered company in England and Wales under company number 08063160 .