Crest of Chasetown Football Club


The Scholars

Chasetown Football Club, nicknamed “The Scholars,” is a non-league football club based in Chasetown, Staffordshire.

Established in 1970, they currently compete in the Pitching In Northern Premier League Division One West, which is part of the eighth tier of English football. The team calls Scholars Ground their home ground.

At the time of writing, Mark Swann is the current manager with experience at Walsall Wood among his past roles.

A photo of Chasetown
© Diego Sideburns, licensed under CC BY NC-ND 2.0


Founded in 1954 as Chase Terrace Old Scholars Youth Club, Chasetown Football Club quickly made its mark in local leagues. Renamed Chasetown FC in 1972-73, they experienced early success under managers Larry Percival and Bill Murray, including a league title in 1977-78. A move to the Scholars Ground in 1983 allowed them to climb to the West Midlands (Regional) League Premier Division.

The late 1980s and early 1990s saw a resurgence, led by Mervyn Rowe and later his son Michael Rowe. The team won multiple cups and maintained consistent league performances. A highlight was the 2005-06 season, where they made an impressive FA Cup run, reaching the First Round and gaining national recognition.

Chasetown continued to make strides in the following years, including a historic FA Cup Third Round appearance against Cardiff City in 2007-08. Despite managerial changes and varying league results, the club remained competitive, reaching playoffs and making significant cup runs. Scott Dundas’ appointment as manager marked a new chapter, with the team continuing its journey in non-league football, embodying resilience and ambition.


Current management and coaching staff


Former players and managers elsewhere in the non-league pyramid