Crest of Corby Town Football Club

Corby Town

The Steelmen

A photo of Corby Town Football Club
© Yorkshiregroundhopper, licensed under CC BY SA 4.0

Corby Town Football Club, nicknamed “The Steelmen,” is a non-league football club based in Corby, Northamptonshire.

Established in 1948, they currently compete in the Pitching In Northern Premier League Division One Midlands, which is part of the eighth tier of English football. The team calls Steel Park their home ground.

Corby Town Football Club, established in 1948 in Corby, is nicknamed “The Steelmen” due to the town’s steelworks history. The club enjoyed early success, winning their first match and securing the United Counties League title twice by 1952, with standout player Ernie Middlemiss. They moved to the Southern League in 1958, achieving promotion to the Premier Division in 1965 and narrowly missing joining the Football League.

In the 1980s and 90s, the club faced challenges, including relegation and financial crises. They moved to the Rockingham Triangle in 1985 and later to the 3,000-capacity Steel Park stadium in 2011. Despite these challenges, the club achieved brief successes, including a league and cup double in the early 90s and narrowly avoiding relegation in the 2011/12 season.

A positive turn occurred in the mid-2010s when a local consortium saved the club from administration. Under the leadership of Tommy Wright, the team won the Southern League Premier Division Championship, returning to the Conference North with a dramatic final-day victory against Poole Town. This marked a significant achievement for Corby Town, overcoming a period marked by financial and on-field struggles.