National League North β€’ North West


Southport Football Club is an association football club, based in Southport, Lancashire. Founded 142 years ago in 1881, the team currently compete in the National League North, the 6th tier of English football.

They play their home matches at Haig Avenue, and are nicknamed "The Sandgrounders".

The team's playing kit is manufactured by Kappa.


The original Southport Football Club began as a rugby team in the 1870's.

Reforming in 1881, the club switched to association football and merged with Southport Wanderers in 1886, forming Southport Central.

Southport Central became a founder member of the Central League in 1911, and joined the Football League in 1921.

The club achieved two promotions, in 1966/67 and 1972/73, but was relegated in 1978.

The club survived various financial crises in the 1980's before stabilizing, and won the Northern Premier League in 1992/93.

The club reached the FA Trophy Final in 1997/98, and the FA Cup fifth round in 1965.

Southport were promoted to the Conference in 2005/06, but were relegated in 2016/17.

The club won the Liverpool Senior Cup and Lancashire Junior Cup double in 2018/19, but the 2020/21 season was declared null and void due to the Coronavirus pandemic.