National League North β€’ North East


Darlington Football Club is an association football club, based in Darlington, Durham. Founded 140 years ago in 1883, the team currently compete in the National League North, the 6th tier of English football.

They play their home matches at Blackwell Meadows, and are nicknamed "The Quakers".

The team's playing kit is manufactured by Joma and is made of 100% polyester interlock.


Darlington were one of the original founder members of the Northern League in 1889 and went on to win the title twice in 1896 and 1900.

They turned professional in 1908 and joined the North Eastern League, winning it in 1913.

They reached the last sixteen of the FA Cup in 1910/11, but the First World War had a big impact on the club, resulting in money problems.

The club won the Third Division North Cup in 1934 and installed floodlights in 1960.

They made history in 1955 by playing the first ever FA Cup match under floodlights.

They won promotion to the Second Division in 1924-25, but were relegated back to the Third Division North.

Quakers reached the League Two play offs in 2008 and the FA Trophy final in 2011, winning the latter.

They moved to a new stadium in 2003, but faced financial problems and were relegated out of the Football League in 2009-10.

The club was taken over by a supporters group in 2004, and after two promotions in three years, they won the Evostik League title in 2015 and moved back to their home town in 2016.

They reached the first round proper of the FA Cup in 2019, but lost in the replay.

The fans have raised over Β£1 million for the club since 2012.