Crest of Curzon Ashton Football Club

Curzon Ashton

The Nash

A photo of Curzon Ashton Football Club
© Biddle of Nowhere Photography, licensed under CC BY SA 2.0

Curzon Ashton Football Club, nicknamed “The Nash,” is a non-league football club based in Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester.

Established in 1963, they currently compete in the Vanarama National League North, which is part of the sixth tier of English football. The team calls Tameside Stadium their home ground.

Curzon Ashton FC, formed in 1963 from a merger of Curzon Road and Ashton Amateurs, quickly made an impact in the Manchester Amateur League, winning titles early on. Progressing to the Manchester League, they clinched a league and cup double in 1977-78 and became founding members of the Cheshire League Division Two in 1978/79, securing promotion in their inaugural season.

Their journey in the FA Vase saw them reach the semi-finals, a significant achievement despite a defeat to Stamford. The club’s evolution continued as they joined the North West Counties League (NWCL) in 1983/84, following a regional league merger. By 1986, Curzon Ashton had joined the Northern Premier League (NPL) First Division, a move marked by the installation of floodlights at their National Park ground.

The 1990s saw fluctuating fortunes, including managerial changes and relegation from the NPL. However, the club’s relocation to the Tameside Stadium in 2005 signalled a new era. Under Gary Lowe and later John Flanagan, Curzon Ashton found stability and success, reaching league and cup finals and achieving promotions.

Flanagan’s leadership saw them reach their highest league position and secure a league title in 2013/14. Their ascent continued with a promotion to the Evo-Stik NPL Premier Division, leading to their highest ever level in the Vanarama National League North by the 2015-16 season. Curzon Ashton FC’s story is one of resilience and growth in non-league football.