Crest of Alfreton Town Football Club

Alfreton Town

The Reds

A photo of Alfreton Town Football Club
© Bill Wheatcroft, licensed under CC BY 2.0

Alfreton Town Football Club, nicknamed “The Reds,” is a non-league football club based in Alfreton, Derbyshire.

Established in 1959, they currently compete in the Vanarama National League North, which is part of the sixth tier of English football. The team calls North Street their home ground.

Founded in 1959 from a merger, the club quickly progressed through English non-league football. After initial success in the Central Alliance and Midland Counties League, highlighted by a Midland League title in 1969/70, the club faced challenges, including relegation from the Northern Premier League. Revitalization began under Wayne Bradley’s ownership in 1997.

The early 2000s saw unprecedented success with manager Chris Wilder, capturing four trophies in 2001/02, leading to promotions up to the Conference (North). Nicky Law’s tenure in the late 2000s and early 2010s brought the club to its highest-ever league position and consecutive play-off appearances, peaking with the Blue Square Bet North title in 2010/11.

Despite a relegation in 2014/15, Alfreton Town has remained a resilient force in the National League North. Recent developments include managerial changes and the introduction of their Academy side in the National League Under 19 Alliance League. The club also actively engages in community initiatives, notably their Football in the Community coaching scheme.