Crest of Dartford Football Club


The Darts

Dartford Football Club, nicknamed “The Darts,” is a non-league football club based in Dartford, Kent.

Established in 1888, they currently compete in the Pitching In Isthmian League Premier Division, which is part of the seventh tier of English football. The team calls Princes Park their home ground.

Dartford Football Club was founded in 1888, initially playing friendly and cup matches. They joined the Kent League in 1894, making their FA Cup debut in 1895. Dartford won the Southern League, Division Two championship shortly after and fluctuated between leagues due to financial issues, eventually settling at Summers Meadow. The 1930s were a successful era under manager Bill Collier, with multiple league and cup wins. Post-World War II, success was limited, but included a Kent Senior Cup win in 1947. The club restructured as a public company in 1921 and moved to Watling Street, which was sold in 1992 due to financial strain.

The 1970s brought a Southern League Championship, but the 1980s were marked by managerial changes and mixed successes. Financial challenges continued, leading to ground-sharing arrangements. The Supporters’ Association helped sustain the club, leading to a return to the Southern League in 1996. The opening of Princes Park in 2006 marked a resurgence, with Dartford achieving league titles and strong cup performances. Recent years saw fluctuating fortunes, including relegation struggles and managerial changes. The club’s performance in the National League South stabilized, but they faced challenges in achieving promotion.