Crest of Wroxham Football Club


The Yachtsmen

Wroxham Football Club, nicknamed “The Yachtsmen,” is a non-league football club based in Wroxham, Norfolk.

Established in 1970, they currently compete in the Pitching In Isthmian League North Division, which is part of the eighth tier of English football. The team calls Trafford Park their home ground.


Wroxham FC was founded in 1892 and experienced its foundational years participating in local leagues and gradually progressing through the football pyramid. The club’s journey through various competitions saw a notable rise in the mid-1970s, clinching the Norfolk Junior Cup in 1975 and achieving successive league promotions thereafter. The 1980s and early 1990s marked a golden era for Wroxham, with multiple Premier Division titles and cup victories, including a significant achievement in the 1991-92 season when they set a points record in winning the title, followed by surpassing this record in their centenary season.

The club continued to demonstrate strength in the following decades, maintaining high league positions and winning several Norfolk Senior Cups. Despite not securing lower finishes than eighth after their promotion to the Eastern Counties League Premier Division, the 2000s were highlighted by consistent cup success and a memorable FA Vase final appearance in 2010, although it ended in defeat. By 2015, the club celebrated another notable victory in the Norfolk Senior Cup Final, underscoring its enduring competitiveness and local dominance.

Regarding their home grounds, Wroxham FC transitioned through multiple venues before settling at Trafford Park around World War II. Significant developments at Trafford Park include the construction of the Les King Stand in 1990 and a modern clubhouse in 1994, enhancing the facility’s capacity and infrastructure.